OMPA member city officials and staff meet with Oklahoma State Senator and Representative

From left to right: David Osburn, OMPA; Kirk Henderson, Tonkawa; Homer Nicholson, Ponca City; Kenneth Smith, Tonkawa; Sen. Pederson (D-19); Jennifer Rogers, OMPA; Rep. Pfeiffer (D-38); Randy Elliott, OMPA; Vernon Smith, Goltry and Steve Stinson, Pond Creek.

On Friday, July 28, the cities of Goltry, Ponca City, Pond Creek and Tonkawa, along with staff from the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA), met with Senator Pederson (District 19) and Representative Pfeiffer (District 38) over lunch in Pond Creek at Mayor Stinson’s restaurant.

The purpose of this meeting was to continue to educate the legislators on the history of OMPA and the unique role we play with our member cities.

The legislators, city staff and OMPA had in depth discussions regarding issues facing OMPA and our member cities, as well as our outlook on the future.

Those in attendance were: Senator Roland Pederson, District 19; Representative John Pfeiffer, District 38; Vernon Smith, Goltry Councilmember; Homer Nicholson, Ponca City Mayor; Steve Stinson, Pond Creek Mayor; Art Curl, Pond Creek Business Manager; Mike Peterman, Pond Creek Electric Superintendent; Charlotte Hoar, Pond Creek Clerk-Treasurer; several other employees from Pond Creek; Kenneth Smith, Tonkawa Mayor; Kirk Henderson, Tonkawa City Manager; David Osburn, OMPA General Manager; Randy Elliott, OMPA General Counsel and Jennifer Rogers, OMPA Government Relations Rep.

Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA) is a not-for-profit organization, established in Title 11, the Municipal Code of the Oklahoma statutes. OMPA was created for the purpose of providing an adequate, reliable and affordable supply of electrical power and energy to Oklahoma’s municipally owned electric systems. The Authority presently serves 42 municipally owned electric systems in Oklahoma. As a consumer-owned public power entity, OMPA is owned by the member cities it serves.