Cain Appointed To OMPA Board

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Contact Drake Rice, OMPA Director of Member Services, 405/340-5047

Janice Cain, City Administrator, City of Marlow, was unanimously appointed by the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA) Board of Directors to fill a vacancy on the board during the board’s monthly business meeting on March 11th.  Cain has served as Marlow’s City Administrator since 1998.  She also has served as the City Manager for the City of Lindsay from 1992 to 1998 and the City Manager for the City of Comanche from 1989 to 1991 – all Public Power communities.

“I am pleased that I will be able to serve in this capacity on behalf of the cities in the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority and I will work to protect and improve service and services of OMPA member cities,” said Cain.

In addition, Cain serves as a member and past president of the Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma (MESO) Board of Directors and as a past board member and president of the City Management Association of Oklahoma.  She also serves as a board member of the Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group (OMAG) and is a past board chair.  She is a member of the International City/County Management Association and the American Public Power Association (APPA).

In 2008, Cain received APPA’s Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award during the organization’s national conference in New Orleans.  The award is given to utility managers who oversee all areas of administration that includes accounting, administration, community leadership, field supervision, human resources, planning and design, and public relations.

Cain participates in continuing education and training programs provided by the American Public Power Association, the Oklahoma Municipal League and the Association of Group Risk Insurance Pools.  She also is active in her community serving as a member of the Marlow Lions Club and the Marlow Chamber of Commerce.

OMPA is a state-governmental agency created by the legislature to serve cities and towns that own and operate their electrical distribution systems and is governed by the members.  The Authority presently serves 36 municipally owned electric system in Oklahoma.