Ramey Receives National Public Power Award

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Contact Drake Rice, OMPA Director of Member Services, 405/340-5047

Ramey Receives National Public Power Award

John C. Ramey, Okeene Town Administrator, received the American Public Power Association (APPA) Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award at the association’s national conference in Seattle, Washington that was held June 16-20.  The award recognizes managers who perform a variety of duties in communities of 2,500 or fewer electric meters.  Recipients of this award have demonstrated accomplishments in seven areas: planning and design, administration, public relations, field supervision, accounting, human resources, and community leadership.

Ramey also serves on the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority’s (OMPA) Board of Directors and was elected to serve the remainder of a term of a board member who resigned in July 2011.  He is eligible to serve a new three-year term when elections are held at the upcoming OMPA Annual Electors’ Meeting on September 13.

He has been serving as Okeene’s Town Administrator since May 14, 2007.  He spent most of his professional career in Tonkawa where he began serving as a fireman in 1970.  Within a few years, he became the fire chief and served in that capacity until retirement.  He then was hired as Tonkawa’s City Clerk before being assigned to the City Manager’s position.  He was Citizen of the Year in Tonkawa for his work in many civic clubs and organizations.

On September 23, 2009, during the Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma’s (MESO) Annual Conference in Tulsa, he received MESO’s Hicks-Middleton Meritorious Service Award, which recognizes an individual who has distinguished himself and his community by his actions and contributions.  He has over 35 years of meritorious service to his community and to the State of Oklahoma.

APPA is the service organization for the nation’s more than 2,000 community-owned electric utilities that serve more than 46 million Americans.

OMPA is a state governmental agency created by the legislature to serve cities and towns that own and operate their electrical distribution systems and is governed by the members.  The Authority presently serves 39 municipally-owned electric systems in Oklahoma.

MESO is a statewide trade association composed of 75 municipal electric utilities.

Photo CaptionJohn C. Ramey, Okeene Town Administrator,(right) receives APPA’s Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award during the association’s national Conference in Seattle, Wash. from Bill Carroll, APPA’s 2011-2012 board chair and general manager of the Greeneville Light & Power System in Greeneville, Tenn. (APPA Photo)