Osburn chosen for APPA committee

At the American Public Power Association Board Directors Meeting during the Public Power Connect: Virtual Summit & Business Meeting, Jolene Thompson, president and CEO of American Municipal Power, Inc. in Columbus, Ohio, was installed as chair of the board.

She then named OMPA’s general manager, Dave Osburn, to serve with the officers on the APPA Executive Committee.

“It is my honor to represent APPA Region 4 (Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas) on the APPA Board,” Osburn said. “It is an additional honor to be asked to serve on Chair Thompson’s Executive Committee.

“The Executive Committee serves a vital role spending more time on the operations of the Association. It is my pleasure to continue the Oklahoma presence on the board previously provided by Dan Sullivan of GRDA whose term ended this year.”

Osburn came to OMPA in 2007, after serving as General Manager & CEO of Richmond Power and Light in Indiana. He was first the Director of Operations for OMPA, before moving up to Assistant General Manager in 2009 and taking over as General Manager in August of 2013.

Colin Hansen, executive director of Kansas Municipal Utilities in McPherson, Kansas, is chair-elect for 2020-2021. Anthony Cannon, general manager and CEO of Greenville Utilities Commission in Greenville, North Carolina, is vice chair. Decosta Jenkins, president and CEO of Nashville Electric Service in Nashville, Tennessee, is immediate past chair. Layne Burningham, chief operating officer and general manager of Utah Municipal Power Agency in Spanish Fork, Utah, is treasurer.

The other members of the board selected to join Osburn to serve with the officers on the APPA Executive Committee are: Timothy Burke, president and CEO of Omaha Public Power District in Omaha, Nebraska; Nicholas Lawler, general manager of Littleton Electric Light and Water Departments in Littleton, Massachusetts; Kimberly Schlichting, chief operating officer and senior vice president of power supply of Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation, Inc. in Smyrna, Delaware; and Stephen Wright, general manager of Chelan County PUD in Wenatchee, Washington.

APPA board members are chosen to represent 10 regions across the country.