OMPA’s Oklahoma Comfort Program has been EXTENDED

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Contact Drake Rice, Director of Member Services, 405/471-2736

OMPA’s Oklahoma Comfort Program has been EXTENDED

The Oklahoma Comfort Program (OCP) has officially been extended until August 31, 2012. However, all applications for rebates must be completed and received by OMPA by July 31, 2012.

Using funds from the Stimulus State Energy Program administered by the Oklahoma Department of Commerce, OCP is providing additional rebates of $1,000 per ton for geothermal heat pump (GHP) systems. This is in addition to the $800 per ton rebate provided by the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority’s (OMPA) WISE Rebate Program, in participating cities. The Oklahoma Comfort Program also provides energy audits for residential customers in member cities, and training for GHP contractors.

“The Oklahoma Comfort Program has provided OMPA with a great opportunity to work with our member cities by providing excellent benefits to their consumers, while improving power supply economics for the OMPA system,” said OMPA General Manager Cindy Holman.

GHP systems help customers because they heat and cool homes and other buildings at the lowest operating costs. The OCP and WISE rebates, together with the 30 percent federal tax credit for residential customers, make the installation costs comparable with other heating and cooling systems. In fact, GHP systems will probably never be this low in installation costs. GHP systems help electric utilities by adding winter load and reducing summertime peaks.

Pre-qualifications are required. For more information please contact your municipal electric utility. 

OCP and this publication are financed in whole or in part by funds from the Stimulus State Energy Program (SSEP) as administered by the Oklahoma Department of Commerce.

OMPA is a state governmental agency created by the legislature to serve cities and towns that own and operate their electrical distribution systems and is governed by the members. The Authority presently serves 39 municipally-owned electric systems in Oklahoma.