OMPA to join Midwest Reliability Organization

The Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA) has a new Regional Entity (RE) after the dissolution of its previous entity last year.

REs are electric reliability compliance authorities. They provide Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) auditing and enforcement functions for the utilities under their umbrella.

On May 4, FERC granted approval for OMPA to join the Midwest Reliability Organization (MRO), which is based in St. Paul, MN, and serves as the RE for a large number of utilities in the central part of the country.

OMPA’s previous RE was the Southwest Power Pool (SPP), which voted in 2017 to dissolve its existence as an RE. SPP continues to serve as OMPA’s Regional Transmission Organization.

MRO covers roughly 1.3 million square miles spanning the states of Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, and Wisconsin; and the Canadian provinces of Manitoba and Saskatchewan. The region includes more than 220 organizations that are involved in the production and delivery of electricity to more than 33 million people. These organizations include municipal utilities, cooperatives, investor-owned utilities, transmission system operators, a federal power marketing agency, Canadian Crown Corporations, and independent power producers.

For more information, go to