OMPA member city officials and staff meet with Oklahoma State Senator and Representatives

On Thursday, June 7, the cities of Comanche, Duncan and Marlow, along with staff from the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA), met with Senator Scott (District 43), Representative Boles (District 51), Representative McEntire (District 50), Bryson Panas, Field Representative for US Senator James Inhofe, and Thomas Lewis, Field Representative for Congressman Tom Cole over lunch in Marlow.

The purpose of this meeting was to continue to educate the legislators and federal staff on the history of OMPA and the unique role we serve with our member cities. The legislators, city staff and OMPA had in depth discussions regarding legislative issues OMPA encounters and the potential effect it could have on us and our members, as well as our outlook on the future.

Those in attendance were: Senator Paul Scott, D-43; Representative Brad Boles, D-51; Representative McEntire, D-50; Bryson Panas, Field Rep. for Senator James Inhofe; Thomas Lewis, Field Rep. for Congressman Tom Cole, Chuck Ralls, City Manager of Comanche and OMPA Board Member; Smokey Dobbins, Mayor of Comanche; David Yeager, Director of Duncan Power and OMPA Board Member; Jason McPherson, City Manager of Marlow and OMPA Board Member; Brian Davis, Mayor of Marlow; Jeff Prater, Vice Mayor of Marlow; Tom Wheat, Marlow Trustee; Danny Glover, Marlow Councilmember; David Osburn, OMPA General Manager, Randy Elliott, OMPA General Counsel and Jennifer Rogers, OMPA Government Relations Rep.

Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA) is a not-for-profit organization, established in Title 11, the Municipal Code of the Oklahoma statutes. OMPA was created for the purpose of providing an adequate, reliable and affordable supply of electrical power and energy to Oklahoma’s municipally owned electric systems. The Authority presently serves 42 municipally owned electric systems in Oklahoma. As a consumer-owned public power entity, OMPA is owned by the member cities it serves.