OMPA Holds Annual Electors’ Meeting: Celebrates 25 Years Of Providing Wholesale Power And Services To Its Members

FOR MORE INFORMATION, Contact Drake Rice, Director of Member Services, 405/340-5047

OMPA Holds Annual Electors’ Meeting:
Celebrates 25 Years Of Providing Wholesale Power And Services To Its Members

Chuck Hall, Mike Nettles and Clyde Shaw were unanimously elected to serve new three-year terms on the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority’s (OMPA) Board of Directors during the Authority’s Annual Electors’ Meeting.  The annual meeting was held on September 9th at the Roland H. Dawson OMPA Headquarters Building in Edmond.  The board’s monthly business meeting was held in the morning.

Hall, Mayor of the City of Perry, was first appointed to fill a vacancy on the board and confirmed by the electors during the 2007 Annual Elector’s Meeting.  He has served as Perry’s Mayor since April 2007.  He also serves as chairman of the board for the family-owned Exchange Bank & Trust Company of Perry.  Exchange Bank is an Oklahoma state chartered bank.

Nettles, City of Altus City Administrator, was first appointed Interim Director on the board during the February 14, 2002 monthly board meeting and confirmed by the electors during the 2002 Annual Electors’ Meeting.  He was hired on January 22, 2002 as City of Altus’ new city administrator.

Shaw, former City of Duncan City Manager, was first appointed an Interim Director on the board on July 8, 2004 and confirmed by the electors during the 2004 Annual Electors’ Meeting.  Before being hired as the city manager on June 11, 2004, Shaw served as the City Clerk/Executive Director for Duncan since February 1979. He retired in May 2010 after more than 31 years as an employee of the City of Duncan, but is still the elector representing Duncan.

In addition, Janice Cain, City of Marlow City Administrator, was unanimously elected to serve the remainder of the term expiring in 2011 for the seat formerly held by E.J. “Gene” Hahn, Consultant for the Town of Granite.  She was unanimously appointed by the board to fill the vacancy during the board’s monthly business meeting on March 11, 2010.

Cain has served as Marlow’s City Administrator since 1998.  In addition, she serves as a member and past president of the Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma (MESO) Board of Directors and as a past board member and president of the City Management Association of Oklahoma.  She also serves as a board member of the Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group (OMAG) and is a past board chair.  She is a member of the International City/County Management Association and the American Public Power Association (APPA). 

In 2008, Cain received APPA’s Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award during the organization’s national conference in New Orleans.  The Seven Hats Award recognizes managers who perform a variety of duties in communities serving 2,500 or fewer meters.

Those attending the annual meeting heard Board Chair Charles Lamb and General Manager Cindy L. Holman reflect on OMPA’s first 25 years as a wholesale power supplier in Oklahoma.  Dennis G. Hall, CEcd, Manager of the Economic Development Department for the Nebraska Public Power District, was the guest speaker.  During his presentation on “Preparing Communities for the Renewed Economy,” Hall discussed NPPD’s Economic Development Team’s efforts to stimulate economic growth in Nebraska by assisting with the expansion and retention of existing industry, and/or attracting new business.  NPPD is Nebraska’s largest electric utility in terms of geographic area.

OMPA is a state governmental agency created by the legislature to serve cities and towns that own and operate their electrical distribution systems and is governed by the members.  The Authority presently serves 37 municipally-owned electric systems in Oklahoma.