OMPA Annual Electors Meeting Held September 12th

Contact Drake N. Rice, Director of Member Services, 405/359-2500

OMPA Annual Electors Meeting Held September 12th

During the 2013 Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority’s (OMPA) Annual Electors’ Meeting held on September 12th at the Roland H. Dawson Headquarters Building in Edmond , Cindy L. Holman, former OMPA General Manager, was recognized for her 28 years of service to OMPA, the last seven years serving as its General Manager.  Ms. Holman is the Authority’s second General Manager in its 32-year history.    A plaque was unveiled at the meeting naming the Executive Conference Room in her honor.

In addition, Walt Allen, former City Manager of Lexington, and Janice Cain, former City Administrator of Marlow, received electric meter lamps for their service on the OMPA Board.  Mr. Allen served on the OMPA Board for 11 years and as the Lexington City Manager for 18 years.  He was the recipient of the American Public Power Association’s (APPA) Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award in 2000.  Ms. Cain served three years on the OMPA Board and as the Marlow City Administrator for 15 years.  She also was the recipient of APPA’s Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award in 2008.

At the start of the meeting, OMPA Board Secretary Robert Johnston declared a quorum with 17 city electors in attendance.  Homer Nicholson, Chair of the Nominations Committee, presented the committee’s report.  The committee previously recommended to the board at the August 8th meeting that Dale Bunn, City Manager of Purcell, and Mayor Leslie Swinerton of Geary fill the two board vacancies until the September electors’ meeting.    The committee also nominated Mr. Bunn and Mayor Swinerton to fill the remaining seats they were appointed to in August.  Both were elected today to serve to fill the vacancies on the board.

The electors present also re-elected three sitting board members to new three year terms: Jim Frieda, City Manager of Duncan, Elizabeth Gray, City Administrator of Altus, and Chuck Hall, Mayor of Perry.  There are 11 electors serving on the OMPA Board that are elected by representatives (electors) of the participating cities.  Board members serve staggered three-year terms with one third coming up for election each year.  Mr. Frieda was appointed to serve as the interim director from Duncan on October 11, 2012, and Ms. Gray was appointed to serve as the interim director from Altus on June 14, 2012.   Mr. Hall was appointed to fill a vacancy on the board and confirmed by the electors during the 2007 Annual Electors’ Meeting.

OMPA’s new General Manager David W. Osburn discussed recent activities of the Authority and expectations for the future.  OMPA Board Chair Charles Lamb reported on the board’s accomplishments over the past year and reflected on his 20 years of service on the board.

The theme of this year’s meeting was “Building for the Future.”  Prior to the annual electors’ meeting, the board held its monthly business meeting followed by a luncheon.

The Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA) is a municipal joint-action agency created for the purpose of providing an adequate, reliable and affordable supply of electrical power and energy to Oklahoma’s municipally owned electric systems.  The Authority presently serves 39 municipally owned electric systems in Oklahoma.  As a consumer-owned public power entity, OMPA is owned by the member cities it serves.