City Administrator Janice Cain Elected To OMPA Board

FOR MORE INFORMATION, Contact Drake Rice, Director of Member Services, 405/340-5047

City Administrator Janice Cain Elected To OMPA Board

Janice Cain, City of Marlow City Administrator, was unanimously elected to serve the remainder of the term expiring in 2011 for the seat formerly held by E.J. “Gene” Hahn on the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority’s (OMPA) Board of Directors during the Authority’s Annual Electors’ Meeting.  The annual meeting was held on September 9th at the Roland H. Dawson OMPA Headquarters Building in Edmond. 

Cain was unanimously appointed by the board to fill the vacancy during the board’s monthly business meeting on March 11, 2010. She has served as Marlow’s City Administrator since 1998.  In addition, she serves as a member and past president of the MESO Board of Directors and as a past board member and president of the City Management Association of Oklahoma.  She also serves as a board member of the Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group (OMAG) and is a past board chair.  She is a member of the International City/County Management Association and the American Public Power Association (APPA). 

In 2008, Cain received APPA’s Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award during the organization’s national conference in New Orleans.  The Seven Hats Award recognizes managers who perform a variety of duties in communities serving 2,500 or fewer meters.

OMPA is a state governmental agency created by the legislature to serve cities and towns that own and operate their electrical distribution systems and is governed by the members.  The Authority presently serves 37 municipally-owned electric systems in Oklahoma. This year OMPA is celebrating its 25th anniversary of providing wholesale power and services to its members.